Assembly Elections Announced in 5 States

Today at 12 noon, the Election Commission is set to unveil crucial details about the upcoming assembly elections in five Indian states. The Election Commission of India (ECI) has called for a press conference, where they will announce the election dates, number of phases, and nomination filing and withdrawal dates.

Assembly Elections

The five states in question are Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram. The legislative assemblies in these states are due to expire between December 2023 and January 2024. Typically, the ECI announces the election schedule approximately six to eight weeks before the assembly’s tenure concludes.

These forthcoming assembly elections will serve as a significant test for major political parties, including the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the main opposition Congress, and various regional parties.

Here’s the information about the assembly elections in 2023 presented in a tabular form:

StateAssembly Seats
Madhya Pradesh203

This table provides a concise overview of the number of assembly seats in each of the mentioned states for the 2023 assembly elections.

Current Political Landscape in the Five States:

  • Congress is in power in two of the five states, namely Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.
  • Madhya Pradesh is under BJP rule.
  • Telangana is led by the KCR-led BRS.
  • Mizoram is governed by the Mizo National Front (MNF).
Assembly Elections telangana

Expected Election Timeline:

According to Election Commission sources, voting is likely to occur between the second week of November and the first week of December. Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, and Telangana may hold elections in a single phase, similar to 2018. In contrast, Chhattisgarh is expected to have elections in two phases. Voting dates may differ among the five states, but there’s a possibility that the vote counting process will be simultaneous.

The tenure of Mizoram’s Assembly will conclude on December 17 this year, while Telangana, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Madhya Pradesh will see their assemblies’ tenures ending in January next year.

Ensuring Fair and Transparent Elections:

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar has emphasized the Election Commission’s commitment to conducting free, fair, transparent, and inducement-free elections. The Commission will closely monitor issues related to money power and freebies during the election process.

Past Election Results:

In the 2018 assembly elections, Chhattisgarh witnessed a significant political shift as Congress secured a majority with 71 seats, forming the government for the first time in the state. The BJP, on the other hand, secured only 13 seats. Additionally, BSP won 2 seats, and Janata Congress secured 3 seats.

Stay tuned for the official announcement of election dates and other crucial details from the Election Commission’s press conference at 12 noon today.

To read more:

To read more our blog:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *