World Cup 2023 : The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially unveiled the schedule for the much-anticipated ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The announcement took place at the ‘Countdown to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023’ event held in Mumbai. This event promises to be the biggest Cricket World Cup ever, with ten teams competing across ten venues from October 5th to November 19th. Here are the key highlights of this exciting cricket extravaganza.

World Cup 2023

Ahmedabad Set to Host the Opener and Final World Cup 2023

  • The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will witness the tournament’s grand opening and closing ceremonies. The World Cup will kick off with a thrilling match between England and New Zealand on October 5th and conclude with the final on November 19th.

A Record-Breaking Event

  • This edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is set to be the biggest one yet, featuring ten teams and spanning 46 days of cricketing action.

Venues Across India

  • The tournament will be played at various iconic venues across India, including Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and Pune. Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram will also host practice matches.

Blockbuster Opening Matche

  • Defending champions England will face off against New Zealand in a highly anticipated clash that will open the tournament in Ahmedabad. Meanwhile, host nation India will take on five-time World Cup winners Australia in Chennai on October 8th.

Key Matchups in Ahmedabad

  • Ahmedabad will witness high-octane encounters between arch-rivals India and Pakistan on October 15th, as well as a showdown between Australia and England on November 4th.

Qualification Process

  • Eight teams have already qualified for this event through the Cricket World Cup Super League. The final two spots will be decided by the finalists of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier taking place in Zimbabwe.

Round-Robin Format

  • The tournament will maintain the round-robin format from the previous edition, with all teams playing against each other in 45 league matches. Six day matches will commence at 10:30 AM Indian Standard Time (IST), while all other matches, including the knockout stages, will be day-night fixtures starting at 2:00 PM IST.

Road to the Semifinals

  • The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals, scheduled to be held in Mumbai on November 15th and in Kolkata on November 16th. Both the semifinals and the final will have reserve days.

Words from ICC and BCCI

  • ICC Chief Executive, Geoff Allardice, expressed excitement about the event’s magnitude and unique atmosphere, particularly in India.
  • BCCI Secretary Jay Shah emphasized the honor and pride of hosting the World Cup in different Indian cities.

Venues and Match Schedule

  • The detailed match schedule, along with the venues, has been provided for cricket enthusiasts to plan their World Cup experience.

Please stay tuned for more updates and in-depth coverage of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 as we bring you the latest news, match analyses, and exciting moments from this cricketing extravaganza.

As anticipation builds for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, cricket fans worldwide can look forward to witnessing the world’s top teams battling it out for cricketing supremacy. With a diverse range of venues and an electrifying mix of rivalries and matchups, this World Cup promises to be a feast for cricket enthusiasts.

The tournament’s return to India after a gap of over a decade adds an extra layer of excitement, as the country’s passionate cricketing culture is set to create an unforgettable atmosphere. As we count down the days to this cricketing extravaganza, stay connected with us for comprehensive coverage, expert insights, and all the thrilling moments that will define the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

To read more:

Read Asia Cup winner 2023:

One thought on “ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced: “Ahmedabad to Host Opener and Final”.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *