World Cup 2023 Prize Money:

World Cup 2023 Prize Money: Cricket enthusiasts from around the globe are eagerly awaiting the ICC World Cup 2023, set to kick off on October 5th. With stadiums already filling up fast, the excitement is palpable. Adding to the anticipation, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has recently unveiled the prize money for this prestigious tournament.

World Cup 2023 Prize Money

ICC World Cup 2023 Prize Money:

The ICC has allocated a grand total of US$10 million (approximately Rs 82.93 crore) for the ICC World Cup 2023, hosted in India. This substantial sum is set to be distributed among the top-performing teams.

Winner Takes Home a Fortune

The highlight of the prize money distribution is undoubtedly the champion’s share. The team that emerges victorious in the ICC World Cup 2023 final, scheduled to take place at the magnificent Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19th, will be awarded a staggering US$4 million (equivalent to Rs 33.18 crore).

Runner-Up’s Reward

While the winner basks in their glory, the runner-up won’t be left empty-handed. The second-place team in the final showdown will receive a commendable US$2 million (approximately Rs 16.59 crore) as a testament to their remarkable journey in the tournament.

Rewards for Stellar Performances in the Group Stage

Before the knockout rounds, all ten participating teams will engage in fierce competition during the group stage, where they’ll face each other in a round-robin format. The top four teams from this stage will advance to the semi-finals.

Notably, prize money has also been allocated for victories in the group stage. Each triumphant team will earn US$40,000 (about Rs 33.17 lakh) for every win, adding an extra incentive for teams to perform at their best.

Consolation for Teams Exiting Early

For teams that don’t manage to secure a spot in the knockout rounds after the group stage, the ICC has provided a consolation prize. Each of these teams will receive US$100,000 (equivalent to Rs 82.94 lakh) as recognition for their efforts in the tournament.

A Total of 6 Teams to Receive Consolation Prizes

In a bid to appreciate and acknowledge the hard work and dedication of all participating teams, a total of six teams that don’t progress to the knockout stage will be recipients of this consolation prize.

Promoting Gender Equality in Cricket

Notably, the ICC’s decision to allocate equal prize money for both men’s and women’s cricket tournaments is a significant step forward in promoting gender equality within the sport. This landmark move sets a precedent not only for the ICC World Cup 2023 but also for the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025.

The commitment to parity in prize money reflects the growing recognition of women’s cricket and the need to provide equal opportunities and rewards to female cricketers. This announcement, to be formally made during the annual conference in Durban, South Africa, in July 2023, sends a powerful message about inclusivity and underscores the ICC’s dedication to advancing the sport for all.

A Thrilling Tournament Ahead

As the countdown to the 13th edition of the ICC World Cup begins, cricket fans worldwide are eager to witness the action-packed showdown. With a total of 10 teams set to compete for the prestigious World Cup trophy, the excitement is palpable. India’s hosting privilege guarantees their participation, while New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa have earned their spots through the Super League.

The stage is set for a thrilling tournament, where cricketing nations will battle it out on the field, vying for glory, and with the equal prize money initiative in place, this World Cup promises to be a groundbreaking event that transcends gender boundaries and celebrates the spirit of cricket in all its diversity.


The ICC World Cup 2023 promises to be a thrilling and financially rewarding tournament for the teams involved. With a substantial prize pool of US$10 million up for grabs, the stakes are high, and the competition is expected to be fierce. As we eagerly await the first ball to be bowled on October 5th, cricket fans around the world are already speculating on which team will claim the coveted champion’s purse of US$4 million. Stay tuned for all the action and updates as the tournament unfolds.

To read more:

To read more our blog:

3 thoughts on “ICC World Cup 2023 Prize Money: How Much Will the Winner Get?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *